Congrats to Arbor View High School!

Under Friday night lights, we honored Arbor View High School in Las Vegas as a Project UNIFY school!

iPhone Image 6B0F40

What does it mean to be a Project UNIFY or gold-level school? It means that you’ve partnered at least three times with Special Olympics Northern California & Nevada to make your school a more inclusive campus. To read more on our amazing gold-level schools, please click here.

We caught up with one of the general education student peers to find out why she likes volunteering with Special Olympics!

“Working with Special Olympics has really allowed me to broaden my horizons and become a better person. Having the chance to see the athletes improve and learn a new skill gives me a better appreciation for my own work ethic and challenges. I really enjoy the interaction with the athletes, and my opportunity to tell others about it. The Special Olympics athletes are not much different than I am. They struggle to learn new skills, but with hard work they get better and eventually are able to perform and compete. I see the desire they have to get better and it motivates me to be a better person as well. Volunteering is making me a better person and I am really excited to continue helping as I get older and introduce my friends and family to the athletes and get them involved as well.”

By Ashley W. – Arbor View High School Junior

Leave a Reply

