Testimonial Tuesday

General education students at Liberty High School in Henderson, Nev., have been playing Unified Sports with some of their peers who receive special education services. Remember their photo from this Wordless Wednesday? We caught up with a couple of the general education students to how they like working with the Schools Partnership Program. The overwhelming answer – they love it!

“Helping in the Special Olympics has been an enjoyable experience for me. I like to help in the Special Olympics because it gives kids with disabilities the opportunity to play sports and have fun. I like to know that taking part in those activities can have an impact on someone’s life in a good way.

-Jessica

“My experience with Special Olympics was very fun and inspirational. I loved seeing the look on the kids’ faces when they made a basket. It was also super cool to see how excited the kids would get when they heard and saw the crowd clapping. I would definitely do this again because I loved seeing how happy the kids were.”

-Megan

“I can honestly say that participating in Special Olympics, I not only learned so much but had one of the happiest memories of my life. Through it I have made so many amazing relationships and connections with remarkable people, which of whom I will always cherish. Seeing how truly iridescent these children are warms my heart. I feel that in some ways they helped me more than I helped them.

One girl in particular, runs up to me every day giving me the biggest and most sincere hug I could ever get. She smiles more than any person I have ever known and makes me realize how much we have to love in life. In our soccer tournament, it did not matter if we scored 100 or 10 goals; the experience of being a team, having fun and staying fit was alone enough to grin from ear to ear. And isn’t that what sports is all about? At a basketball event we participate in, sure the game was fun, but truth be told, all of us girls sitting in the bleachers laughing our heads off and eating game food, peers and athletes alike, was probably one of the funniest times I have ever experienced. I would love to keep participating in these events and keep making more connections to these dazzling personalities and funny characters.”

-Parker

“When I went to the basketball game with the athletes, I had a great time. I loved seeing the kids shooting the baskets and having a great time. It was very inspirational to see them score a basket and to be able to do the same activities as any other kid. I feel that all kids felt important, and that when they played, they felt like they were just another kid. It was fun to see that kids had as just a good of time as I did and to see them having a blast with big smiles on their faces.”

-Payton

Leave a Reply

